Christmas Comes Early For The Hawk

December 24th, 2013


Is Roger Goodell overcome by the spirit of giving?

Dashon Goldson told Joe today that he will not be fined by the NFL for the punishing hit he put on Rams WR Stedman Bailey.The hit drew a personal foul and appeared to be another six-figure fine, and a possible suspension, waiting to happen. But it seems the NFL saw what Joe saw, that Goldson had no reasonable chance to hold up on the receiver who turned into him.

“I would have heard by now if I was getting fined,” Goldson told Joe this afternoon.

Goldson said the NFL didn’t officially let him know what was wrong with the hit and Bucs coaches didn’t pass on any guidance.

“For me, if I don’t get fined I know that means they shouldn’t have thrown the flag,” Goldson said.

Speaking later to a group of reporters, Goldson reiterated what he’s said previously, that he’s going to keep being himself. Goldson has made subtle adjustments this season but nothing he considers major.

“How do you alter your play?” Goldson asked rhetorically.

6 Responses to “Christmas Comes Early For The Hawk”

  1. chickster Says:

    Did you see that call last night these calls are getting out of hand

  2. Laughing Stock II Says:

    You lower your shoulder like Revis did when he popped the ball loose and David intercepted the ball. I can’t remember the game. It was either Buffalo or Atlanta.

    The Hawk got away with one. That looked illegal to me.

  3. aj Says:

    ^^LOL he got flagged, how is that getting away with one?

  4. BucFanForever Says:

    After I saw the hit, I thought The Hawk would be gone for next week and the first three weeks of 2014. I thought the call was baloney, but that is the NFL now. I am happy he gets to play Sunday and his wallet stays nice and fat for the holidays.

  5. BuccaneerBonzai Says:

    aj Says
    “^^LOL he got flagged, how is that getting away with one?”

    The last time he got fined and suspended.

    Frankly I want him gone. Good baller but he costs the team too much in penalties and losing him on suspensions.

  6. BuccaneerBonzai Says:

    BucFanForever, I don’t think the call was bologna. It was a clear violation. The rule itself? THAT’s bologna for sure.