First Of The Postseason Honors

January 3rd, 2011

adamschein 2The Bucs season wasn’t even over — the Giants and Packers were losing at the time — when the first of what many postseason honors may come the Bucs way.

Twittering from the concrete canyons that is Manhattan, Sirius NFL Radio host and NFL talking head Adam Schein gave out his first postseason award.

And the recipient was Bucs coach Raheem Morris.

@AdamSchein: raheem morris, my 2010 nfl coach of the year.

How can anyone argue with that? Raheem took a three-win team, turned the franchise around using bailing wire, duct tape and gum with all the injuries and rookies, and thumped the Super Bowl champs in their own crib to end the season.

There’s not doubt in Joe’s eyes who is the NFL coach of the year.

Raheem Morris.

12 Responses to “First Of The Postseason Honors”

  1. sunrisejeff Says:

    100% agree. I thought if Spags was able to win that god awful division at 8-8 that he would stand a good chance at it but with the Rams losing I don’t see how it could NOT be Raheem. Hell of a job that coaching staff and FO did this season no doubt.

  2. BamBamBuc Says:

    Next question…. with the Rams losing and not making the playoffs…. is Bradford still rookie of the year??? I think that also opens up ROY for Williams and Blount.

  3. Steve from Oregon Says:

    Agreed…that performance yesterday by the Bucs and the lack of a win by the Rams should give it to Raheem.

    I also think that Bradford subpar game yesterday really helped Blount’s and Williams’ chances at Rookie of the Year.

  4. Atrain WD40 Says:

    BamBamBuc I wish it could be but alas they will battle each other for votes. So Sam will win it by a much smaller margin than previously thought.

  5. Hire Greg Olson! Says:

    “If Mike WIlliams and Arrelious Benn are the answer, I don’t know what the question is…” – Adam Schein’s preseason analysis of the Bucs

  6. Derf Says:

    NOW that the season is finished I’d vote Raheem Coach of the Year with no regrets.

    Sure there were some mistakes along the way but overall excellent improvement

  7. BigMacAttack Says:

    Count Me in on that too. Way to go Coach Morris!!! Best in the NFC!

  8. DailyRich Says:

    I can still see the voters going with Belichick. They’ll say it’s because he went 14-2 with a bunch of nobodies outside of Brady, but it’ll really be because they can’t resist giving awards to the glamor teams.

  9. bucfanjeff Says:

    Definitely Coach of the Year, but Joe, the real question is: Is the COTY award handled like the Pro Bowl voting? If so, we may get snubbed again.

  10. tampa2 Says:

    My Coach of the Year is Olson. That man did a remarkable job with Freeman & the Offense and his play calling & Freeman’s ability to execute those plays are the “only” reason that the Bucs won the games they won.
    Raheem ran the defense, which I hear no one giving praise because the defense was our achilles heel. Raheem may get the praise because he is the named HC, but Olson deserves to be recognized for his efforts.

  11. McBuc Says:

    WOW, Tampa 2, your post was exactly what I expected. Of course you wanted to get rid of Morris for hiring the OC and DC last year. You always talk about how great gruden was, but what if Kiffin did not create those great defensive units? Yopu are a nonfan who does not seem to have a clue.

  12. gitarlvr Says:

    Tampa2 will of course ignore how well Raheem coached up and got performances out of total no names like Frank Okam, Al Woods, and Alex Magee to go ahead and beat the Saints. But yeah, Bill Cowher would have won the Super Bowl this year with a Frank Okam led defense. Right. When we argue with Tampa2 and his ilk it makes feel like we are at the local mental hospital trying to argue with guy who’s convinced he’s the second coming of Jesus.