Saints 35, Bucs 28

October 21st, 2012

Once a upon a time this season, the Bucs were supposed to be the most physical football team around, a team that would impose its will behind beastly offensive linemen. The New Schiano Order would tolerate nothing less.

That wasn’t the case today.

If you can’t score from 1st-and-goal from the 1 yard line on the Saints, then you deserve to lose. And that’s what happened to the Bucs today, as Tampa Bay blew a 14-point lead and got manhandled often after the first quarter by the suspect Saints defensive line. The 1-4 Saints, now 2-4, outscored the Bucs 35-14 to close out the game on the Tampa turf.

There was some questionable efforts by the Bucs’ offense, and eye-opening Bucs coaching calls on both sides of the ball.

The Bucs took a step backwards today, no matter how close the game was. There’s no way to sugarcoat it.

Stick with Joe through the afternoon and evening for so much more.

44 Responses to “Saints 35, Bucs 28”

  1. Pruritis Ani Says:

    Nauseating loss

  2. Danny Says:

    The NFL will send another nice apology letter.
    TBA-Thanks for Blowing Another one.

  3. Aldo Says:

    sorry joe but this one i blame the refs for that ending….

  4. BucfaninMi Says:

    Why not just push every WR out of bounds? How is it not PI?

  5. tom Says:

    It’s a rule and I understand it is a rule, but it is a stupid f-n rule when the db pushes the receiver out of bounds.

  6. raphael Says:

    Its not a step back..its the same as the Giants game…our pass defense is our achilles heel……..Colston>>>>mcdonald all day

  7. MR.T Says:

    This a game the bucs should have won. Make that very make able field goal they missed and get a TD when they had it on the 2 yd line 1st and goal the game is won. Too bad.

  8. BucfaninMi Says:

    GRy ready for losing streak 2012!

  9. Smitty Says:

    I thought if the receiver was PUSHED out, and re-entered, it was NOT a penalty?

  10. AR Says:

    Hated going for the 4th down in 3 rd qtr call and not kicking the field goal instead.

  11. BucfaninMi Says:

    @ smitty, it depends on the team and what week it is!

  12. Gus Says:

    From the rule book:
    A receiver running a downfield pattern can not intentionally go out of bounds and then come back into the field of play to catch the football. If this occurs, the catch will be negated by the official, who will call a penalty for illegal touching. However, if the receiver gets bumped out of bounds by a defender, he can re-establish his field position by getting back into the field of play as quickly as possible. He must also step in bounds with both feet before he catches the pass. The official must determine that the receiver was indeed shoved out of bounds, and that he got back into the field of play as fast as he possibly could.

  13. FLBoyInDallas Says:

    The refs got that last call right. Here’s how the rule reads:

    “Forward pass is first touched by eligible receiver who has gone out of bounds and returned: When an offensive player leaves the field of play (even if he’s shoved out), returns inbounds, and is therefore an ineligible receiver.”

    Pretty straightforward. If it happens while the ball is in the air it’s pass interference. That’s not what happened to Williams, though. If you don’t like it don’t let the DB manhandle you on your route. Simple as that.

    Anyway even without that last call the Bucs made so many huge errors today I couldn’t even keep track of them all. This should’ve been at least a 14-point win for the Bucs but they blew it big time.

  14. Vico Says:

    Man… was this one painful…

  15. OptimisTroll Says:

    I am about to break something.

    The nuances in the rule book screwed over the Buccaneers this week.

    Nuances are not fun for fans, who watched the Bucs tie it up.

  16. Vico Says:

    it was illegal contact from the DB

  17. Inazuma Says:

    If #5 was out of the pocket and beyond the tackles, does that not negate the illegal touching penalty?

    Very hard to swallow that loss. The Bucs can beat the Saints. The defenses being called were not appropriate to stop Brees & company. 3 man rush is not a strategy. Better 2nd half D though.

  18. Gus Says:

    @FLBoyindallas if thats the case receivers would NEVER be able to make catches in the back of the end zone. Might as well shove them out of bounds EVERY SINGLE TIME. Its not legal to TOUCH the receiver after 5 yards!

  19. FLBoyInDallas Says:

    Here’s the direct wording from the rule book:

    Article 8 Illegal Touching of a Forward Pass

    It is a foul for illegal touching if a forward
    pass (legal or illegal), thrown from behind the line of scrimmage:

    (a) is first touched intentionally or is caught by an ineligible offensive player; or

    (b) first touches or is caught by an eligible receiver who has gone out of bounds, either of his own volition or by being legally forced out of bounds, and has re-established himself inbounds.

  20. Hawaiian Buc Says:

    One of the worst thing about losing is watching all the haters come out and post BS, as if the other team isn’t payed to win games as well. We just didn’t make the plays we needed to make to win the game, plain and simple. I don’t care what their record is, that’s a good team (coming off a bye) that we just lost to. Mistakes were made by both players and coaches, but bottom line is that we just made less play that we needed to. This one stings, but I don’t feel the need to point the finger at who is to blame. I’m pretty sure I won’t have a lot of company in feeling that way.

  21. bucsfan1979 Says:

    What is up with free he keep playing the clock down to 1 sec. what the heck is that. was it becuase the pay call wasn’t getting to him on time and if that is the case then coach need to coach his coaches on the damm clock. free needs to get his act together. He is better then this for sure..

  22. OptimisTroll Says:

    watching the game over, Freeman was still inside where Penn lined up when Mike williams was pushed. They blew it.

  23. FLBoyInDallas Says:

    I guess the important part of the rule that needs interpreting by the officials is the part that reads, “legally forced out of bounds”. What’s the difference between being legally and illegally being forced out of bounds before the pass is thrown? That’s the core issue here.

  24. Eric Says:

    They gave it a good run, and Free played well. Bree’s does this to just about everybody. For example 49 games with a TD.

    2-4 is disheartening, but it looks like a young up and coming team to me.

  25. OptimisTroll Says:


    Williams was illegally pushed out of bounds. Freeman was still in the pocket, although he was working his way out, and it was past 5 yards downfield, which is illegal contact.

    Receiver can reestablish himself with illegal contact, which is what happened, the LOUSY refs just didn’t call it.

    Mike Williams TD, we are busy enjoying Overtime.

  26. Hawaiian Buc Says:

    It’s not illegal contact pushing him out of bounds because Freeman was outside of the pocket. I guess the reasoning is because Freeman could run and the defense could be potentially fighting off a block. I don’t like it either, but that’s the stupid rule.

  27. bucsfan1979 Says:

    @Eric Free was taking to much time off the clock

  28. OptimisTroll Says:

    The pocket is defined by where the tackles line up, Freeman was still within where Donald Penn lined up when Mike Williams was illegally touched.

  29. Eric Says:

    Ok maybe he took too much time off the clock, but the man made some damn fine throws.

  30. Patrick Says:

    Too bad an incredible day by both Freeman and Jackson came in a losing effort.

  31. Patrick Says:

    It’s horrible to swallow the fact that this team could easily be 6-0 right now if not for four blown losses.

  32. bucsfan1979 Says:


    I have the up most respect for free but, he is a 3rd year player and should now better. If they couldn’t get the calls to him he knows he can make the calls

  33. FLBoyInDallas Says:

    Optimis I guess you’re right if Freeman wasn’t starting to scramble. If he was still in the pocket and Williams was intentionally shoved out of bounds it should’ve been called illegal contact on the Saints and the Bucs given the option to decline the penalty and take the TD.

    I also think we got screwed on the 15-yard penalty on what would’ve been a 51-yeard FG attempt by the Saints. The DL can stunt or re-position sideways before the snap and it isn’t a penalty. Only if they fake jumping forwards towards the OL in order to intentionally draw them into a false start is it a penalty on the DL. They didn’t do that. They simply adjusted sideways by a single gap at the last second. Schiano was absolutely livid about that.

    The officials are going to get some horrible reviews of their performance after this one. Still, though, the Bucs killed themselves in this game far more than even the officials did. Shame.

  34. Hawaiian Buc Says:

    Freeman took too much time off the clock? We went damn near 80 yards with less than 2 minutes left and no timeouts and he took too long? We had 3 plays inside the 10 yard line (4 if you count the spike). It’s fine if you don’t think Freeman is a good QB (you are well within your right to feel that way as he has done plenty to justify that belief), but to say he didn’t have a great game is biased beyond words. I’m not sure what game you were watching, but we have NEVER had a QB that was able to make those types of throws. It’s not his fault we can’t get a yard on 4 tries, or V-Jax runs as fast as Brian Price.

  35. FLBoyInDallas Says:

    Yes the Bucs left points on the field today but the officials stole 7 points from them and incorrectly gave 7 points to the Saints on that ridiculous non-penalty penalty on their FG try, so it’s about even.

  36. BucFan20 Says:

    It was because Freeman was OUT of the pocket when he threw the pass. It was the proper call. Stop crying. Their defense did what they had to to stop our 1 TD. Blount, Martin Freeman Noone was getting in. Maybe pass was a better option. Put this on the damn DC and defense where it belongs. NOT just the pass defense. You put no pressure on Brees with our “STUDS” and rush 3 all day he will pick you apart. He did. The offense did enough that should win point wise.

  37. Eric Says:

    If you rush Brees with more guys sometimes he burns ya even worse.

    35 is normal point total for the guy. We just needed one more play offensively. Especially at their one yard line.

  38. OptimisTroll Says:

    No BucFan20,


    it is when the penalty happens. Or corners would be a lot more effective.

    They could just hammer receivers constantly.

  39. BucFan20 Says:

    Eric, Put pressure on him and get him on the ground he does not put 35 on the board. Don’t give me the BS we could not have done it. There was no pressure on him all day. Look what Freeman did when he had all day to throw.

  40. BucFan20 Says:

    Keep crying Optimis. The rule is the rule.

  41. BucFan20 Says:

    Get the job done. Stop them. before. You don’t have to worry about the rule.

  42. Vico Says:

    I stil can’t get over the fact that these bucs, in almost every game, play 2 wonderful quarters (today first and fourth) and 2 where its like they were these really bad tem with no will to win at all. It’s been like this on EVERY GAME (though i couldn’t watch the KC game, not counting that one on this). Panthers: First half. NYG: First half. Dallas:Most of the game. Redskins: 2nd half. I strongly feel this is a coaching problem, as the issue clearly shows on a simple strategic analysis. Feel like they could easily have 4-2 record at least.

  43. FLBoyInDallas Says:

    Everyone in the media, including Mike Pereira, are saying Freeman was outside the pocket and therefore illegal contact does not apply. You can legally shove a WR out of bounds once the QB is outside the pocket as long as the ball isn’t in the air yet. This is exactly what happened on this play so I have to say the final answer is that the Bucs did NOT get screwed on this play and the officials were actually correct.

    There’s nothing to see here. No illegal contact. No pass interference. Absolutely correct call. Moving along now.

  44. Rican Says:

    Disheartening to be a Buc fan right now. I want my hardest to stay away from anything Buc right now to keep my mind off my Bucs but I just can’t. It sucks