Initial Ring Of Honor Inductee: Lee Roy Selmon

July 23rd, 2009

For years fans have been asking — no, pleading — with the Glazer Boys to erect a “ring of honor” to glorify past Bucs greats.

The idea was a no-brainer and Joe cannot comprehend why the Glazer Boys dragged their feet on this issue, unless they couldn’t shake down some corporation to sponsor it and after years of fruitless effort, finally gave up.

Anyway, the Glazer Boys recently announced this year the Bucs would construct a ring of honor but did not announce any inductees. But Vacation Man of has word that arguably the greatest Bucs player of all time, Lee Roy Selmon, will be the first inductee to the Bucs Ring of Fame.

Vacation Man hints that only one player per year will be inducted, which Joe thinks is actually a swell idea. Angela Jacobs of WTSP-TV reported Wednesday evening that the ring of honor ceremony will be held when the Bucs host Green Bay, Nov. 8. Joe assumes that will also be the day the Bucs wear their throwback orange uniforms, but the Bucs are still mum on that.

So Joe wants to see some feedback from his loyal readers. Who else should go into the Bucs Ring of Honor? Joe has a few suggestions:

John McKay.

Kevin House.

Richard “Batman” Wood.

Ricky Bell.

Jimmie Giles.

Scot Brantley.

James Wilder.

Hardy Nickerson.

Charley Hannah.

Paul Gruber.

Players from the glory years of the past decade or so are too easy to name.

What say you Bucs fans?

16 Responses to “Initial Ring Of Honor Inductee: Lee Roy Selmon”

  1. Mr. Lucky Says:

    My nominee for the Ring of Horror is Hugh Culverhouse.

    What? Did I misunderstand?

    Oh Ring of HONOR!!!!

    Doug Williams

    But I wonder which ring would have more members?

  2. Joe Says:

    Mr. Lucky:

    Joe cannot believe he didn’t think of Doug Williams. Wow, Joe’s bad.

    Then again, Joe did write this post around 11 p.m. last night. Maybe Joe had too much Dan Wheeler on the brain?

  3. Elder2705 Says:

    If you induct John McKay than by default you would have to include Tony Dungy. He did bring the Bucs into todays modern day football. And if Tony is in how could you not include the only head coach to bring you a ring (Jon Gruden). I say leave all coaches out for now. We have had a lot of good players over the years. If the Bucs will only add 1 name a year to the ring of honor we should not have to worry about adding any coaches for at least a decade.

  4. Ash Says:

    naming the players of the last decade may be easy but theres no way Scot Brantlley gets in over those guys.

  5. Mike Says:

    Mark Cotney was always one of my favorites.

  6. Mike Says:

    Dave Logan, Jon Gruden, Tony Dungy

  7. Flea Says:

    It’s the ring of honor, not the ring of all the pretty good players we can think of. …Gruber’s in.

  8. Joe Says:

    Dave Logan is a good one Mike, as was Cotney.

  9. ccbubbe Says:

    Brantley?? Please.

  10. dmoney Says:

    I’m with Elder we have enough great Buc players that we don’t need to add the coaches for a while.

    My list would be.

    Hardy Nickerson

    Dave Logan

    Paul Gruber

    Mike Alstott

    Derrick Brooks (when he officially retires)

    John Lynch

  11. gbuc Says:

    It should be “The KREWE of Honor” That’s in keeping with the Buccaneer tradition. We don’t want to imitate other teams.

  12. Joe Says:

    Joe likes that idea gbuc!

  13. BigMacAttack Says:

    Derrick Brooks would be first choice. Warren Sapp #2. Those would be my choices based on Overall Badassity and they were both on the Super Bowl Team. I like Brooks because he has been the leader of the team for a long time. You could always count on Brooks. He was always there, 110%. I think Sapp was the Spark that really put the Defense on the Map. My 3’rd Choice would be a Fan. He’s the real big Dude that wears the Pewter hardhat with the Horns and face paint. He’s been going to the games for years. I don’t know his name, but I would know his painted face if I saw it.

  14. whitebuc Says:

    you have all made solid, yet obvious choices. For us “old schoolers”,what about James Wilder and Tony Mayberry?

  15. RastaMon Says:

    started at the beginning !

  16. RastaMon Says:

    It’s not called the “Ring of Fame”